Hair. My New Obsession.

Almost as important as a chic outfit, is a chic hair style to match.

Now, I’m not usually one for trends but currently I’m digging the short waved effortless (it’s really not) look that’s being sported on numerous celebs and fashions bloggers alike. I’ve put together some of my favourites to inspire your next haircut or weekend styles.

hairThis isn’t an instructional post, I’ve always been able to pull together a sweet up do but haven’t quite conquered long luxurious waves a là Lana or Blake. Pretty sure a large barrel curler and day after washed hair will help you accomplish this look. Poker straight hair is so 2007. I do like a sleek straight style but always volumised with some teasing or a flip and spray. Nicole’s style is a modernised bed-head style that works for both day and night (if you have a hair-stylist…). I’m still working on getting this look down, I seem to go too extreme, or not enough.

I feel so much better about my look when my hair is done nicely. It doesn’t matter if it’s just to go to work or if it’s a night out in the city. Even just a sleek pony tail will do (this is harder for me to achieve than it sounds… ringlets anyone?). For a night time look, I match simple hair with a slick of a bold lipstick, works a treat. Or for a softer, classic style I will wave my hair similar to that of Rachel McAdams look seen below. Such a tax when my hair is not cut to shape or has grown too long. I will admit I am terrible at regularly getting new cuts, mainly because they are expensive! I’ve only just finished my degree and whilst in the throws of study I never had a casual $80 to drop on hair cuts every 6 weeks, let alone fund my daily coffee habit. This year I made a vow to myself that I will keep my hair in good shape, starting with a good style. Especially as it was a shameful 10 months between my previous cuts. I know, I know. I hope no hairdressers are reading this :/ and honestly my hair was really lacking! It just had not body, no oomph, no va-va-voom.

Rachel_2

 

I ❤ Rachel McAdams. She’s fab and damn beautiful, just look at that jaw line people! She keeps it fresh by changing her style with her movies and seems to be able to nail every colour as well, from blonde to brunette and even red. Rachel also suits like every style, up or down it just seems to work! I’ve always wanted to go a rich orange/red like Joan from Mad Men but have always been too much of a pansy to go through with it. Mainly because then my wardrobe would almost be null and void, right? That’s what I tell myself anyway. I have also been blonde, it worked but was never as striking as a dark brunette, which is my current colour.

 

emma

Emma Watson = Babe.

_H028146-as-Smart-Object-1

Hey, look it’s me. I’ve chopped my hair a few inches shorter and am loving it. I have always been obsessed with 1930s short waved styles so I see this as a modern version of that. Apart from the awful women’s rights and the world wars, I think I would have suited being born at the beginning of the 20th century, don’t you?

Photo credit: Sarah Pannell, thanks lady.

Happy styling Xx

Megan